It's no secret that Netflix has been losing subscribers for the past few years. You must have already cancelled your Netflix membership if you are one of those users looking for a new Netflix alternative.
However, cancelling your subscription does not result in the deletion of your Netflix account. In this article, we discussed how you can request that your Netflix account be deleted immediately when you cancel your membership.
1. The Most easiest Way to Deactivate Your Netflix Account
To request account deletion prior to the 10-month waiting period, send an email to email@example.com from the email address associated with your Netflix account.
If you request that your account be deleted after cancelling your membership before the end of your current billing cycle, Netflix will delete the account at the end of the billing cycle by default. You can, however, request that the account be deleted immediately before the billing period ends.
2. Example of a Netflix Account Cancellation Email
We've included a sample email that you can use to request account deletion quickly. You can modify the template before sending the account deletion email to suit your needs. As previously stated, sending this email from the same email address as your Netflix account is critical.
You do not need to include your email address associated with your Netflix account in the subject; instead, send the account deletion email using the same address. Having said that, here is the email format you should use:
3. How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription
The first thing you should do is cancel your current subscription. Once completed, Netflix will keep your information on file for the next ten months. Your account will then be automatically deleted. However, it is entirely possible to ensure that it is gone sooner than that.
Step 1 : Open your web browser and type www.netflix.com into the address bar, then press enter or click on the link. Sign in to your Netflix account next.
Step 2 :Select your profile, if you have more than one.
Step 3 :Hover your mouse over the downward-pointing arrow next to your profile picture and select Account from the drop-down menu.
Step 4 :Click the Cancel button under Membership & Billing.
Step 5 :Click on the blue Finish Cancellation button to finalize the cancellation of your Netflix membership.
If you signed up through Google Play or iTunes, then you’ll need to go through their services to cancel your subscription. Netflix won’t be able to delete your account in this scenario until the end of the current billing period.
Delete Your Netflix Account
That's all there is to it. That's how you can delete your Netflix account permanently without having to wait 10 months. While Netflix's default 10-month account retention policy is adequate for most users, it's useful to have the option to manually trigger the deletion sooner. If you're still on the fence about cancelling your Netflix membership, we recommend checking out the best Netflix movies and best Netflix shows before you commit. That being said, why did you deactivate your Netflix account? Please let us know in the comments section below